Award in Lipid Chemistry

In April 1964, the Governing Board of the American Oil Chemists' Society established an Award in Lipid Chemistry under the sponsorship of the Applied Science Laboratories, Inc., State College, Pa. Previous awards were presented as follows: Erich Baer, August 1964; Ernest Klenk, October 1965; H.E. Carter, October 1966; Sune Bergstrom, October 1967; Daniel Swern, October 1968; H.J. Dutton, October 1969; E.P. Kennedy, September 1970; E.S. Lutton, October 1971; A.T. James, September 1972; F.D. Gunstone, September 1973; P.K. Stumpf, September 1974; W.O. Lundberg, September 1975; and George Popjak, May 1977

The award consists of \$2500 accompanied by an appropriate certificate. It is planned that the fourteenth award will be presented at the AOCS Annual Meeting in St. Louis, May 14-18, 1978.

Canvassing Committee Appointees

Policies and procedures governing the selection of award winners have been set by the AOCS Governing Board. An Award Nomination Canvassing Committee has been appointed. Members are: Harold P. Dupuy, chairman; David L. Berner; Earl G. Hammond; Frank T. Lindgren; and R.G. Krishnamurthy. The function of this committee is to solicit nominations for the fourteenth award. Selection of the award winner will be made by the Award Committee whose membership will remain anonymous.

Rules

The rules prescribe that nominees will have been responsible for the accomplishment of original research in lipid chemistry and must have presented the results thereof through publication of technical papers of high quality. Preference will be given to individuals who are actively associated with research in lipid chemistry and who have made fundamental discoveries that affect a large segment of the lipid field. For award purposes, the term "lipid chemistry" is considered to to embrace all aspects of the chemistry and biochemistry of fatty acids, of naturally occurring and synthetic compounds and derivatives of fatty acids, and of compounds that are related to fatty acids metabolically or occur naturally in close association with fatty acids or derivatives thereof. The award will be made without regard for national origin, race, color, creed, or sex.

Letters of nomination together with supporting documents must be submitted in octuplicate to Harold P. Dupuy, USDA Southern Regional Research Center, P.O. Box 19687, 1100 Robert E. Lee Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70179 before the deadline of August 21, 1977. The supporting documents will consist of professional biographical data, including a summary of the nominee's research accomplishments, a list of his publications, the degrees he holds, together with the names of the granting institutions, and the positions held during his professional career. There is no requirement that either the nominator or the nominee be a member of the American Oil Chemists' Society. In addition, letters from at least three other scientists supporting the nomination must be submitted in octuplicate.

Remember the deadline: August 21, 1977

Call for papers

69th Annual Meeting

The Technical Program Committee has issued a call for papers to be presented at the AOCS Annual Meeting, May 14-18, 1978, at the Chase-Park Plaza Hotel in St. Louis. Papers on every aspect of lipids, oils and fats, and related areas are welcome. Please submit three copies of a 100-300 word abstract with *Title, Authors*, and *Speaker*. Please also indicate whether you wish to make the presentation in the regular manner or in a poster session. The abstracts are to be sent to Robert Burton, c/o Burton International Ltd., P.O. Box 13135, St. Louis, MO 63119.

Deadline: December 1, 1977

Call for nominations

Alton E. Bailey Award

The North Central Section of AOCS is requesting written nominations from Society members for the 1977-78 Alton E. Bailey Award. The purpose of the Bailey Award is to recognize research and/or service in the field of fats and oils. The nomination should contain at least five pertinent references or contributions in the field of oils, fats, waxes, etc. Some of the past Bailey Award winners are: V.C. Mehlenbacher (1959), R.H. Potts (1960), J.C. Cowan (1961), A.R. Baldwin (1963), T.P. Hilditch (1965), D. Swern (1966), W.O. Lundberg (1967), H.J. Dutton (1968), H.S. Olcott (1969), H.E. Carter (1970), J.F. Mead (1971), R.T. Holman (1972), C.M. Gooding (1973), S.S. Chang (1974), W.M. Cochran (1975), Raymond Reiser (1976), Leo Goldblatt (1977).

Please send nominations to the Alton E. Bailey Award Chairman, Robert L. Husch, Interstate Foods Corp. 3800 S. Morgan, Chicago, IL 60609. The deadline for nominations is December 15, 1977, and notification of the selection will appear in this *Journal*. The presentation of the Bailey Award is scheduled for February 1978.

Deadline: December 15, 1977

the latest in Lipids JUNE 1977

The Nomenclature of Lipids Control of Fatty Acid Synthe

Control of Fatty Acid Synthesis and Desaturation
Analysis of Oleate and Linoleate Hydroperoxide Mixtures
Inhibition of Desaturases by Cyclopropenoid Fatty Acids
Influence of Elaidate and Erucate on Heart Mitochondria
Effect of Dietary Lipid on Trout Body Lipid
Effect of Dietary Factors on the Size of Lymph Fat Particles
Purification of Serum Contaminated Lung Surfactant
The Phylogenetic Distribution of Sterols in Tracheophytes